Chicago Cubs

The Chicago Cubs are an American professional baseball team based in Chicago, Illinois. The Cubs compete in Major League Baseball (MLB) as a member club of the National League (NL) Central branch. The team plays its home games at Wrigley Field, located on the city’s North Side. The Cubs are one of two big league teams in Chicago; yet another, the Chicago White Sox, is a member of the American League (AL) Central division. The Cubs, first Called the White Stockings, were a founding member of the NL in 1876, becoming the Chicago Cubs at 1903. [3]
The Cubs have appeared in a total of eleven World Series. The 1906 Cubs won 116 games, completing 116–36 and submitting a modern-era record winning percentage of .763, before dropping the World Series to the Chicago White Sox (“The Hitless Wonders”) by four games to 2. The Cubs won back-to-back World Series championships in 1907 and 1908, becoming the first major league team to play in three consecutive World Series, and also the first to win it two. Most recently, the Cubs won the 2016 National League Championship Series and 2016 World Series, that finished a 71-year National League pennant drought and also a 108-year World Series championship drought,[4] both of which can be record droughts in Major League Baseball. [5][6] The 108-year drought was also the longest such event in most significant North American sport. Since the start of divisional play in 1969, the Cubs have appeared in the postseason ten occasions through the 2018 season. [4][7]
The Cubs are called”the North Siders”, a reference to the positioning of Wrigley Field inside the city of Chicago, and in contrast to the White Sox, whose dwelling field (Guaranteed Speed Field) is situated on the South Side.
The Cubs have numerous rivalries. There’s a divisional competition with the St. Louis Cardinals, a more recent rivalry with the Milwaukee Brewers and an interleague rivalry with the Chicago White Sox.

Read more here:

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *