Central Division (NBA)

The Central Division is one of the 3 Branches in the Eastern Conference of the National Basketball Association (NBA).

The branch consists of five teams, the Chicago Bulls, the Cleveland Cavaliers, the Detroit Pistons, the Indiana Pacers and the Milwaukee Bucks. All groups, except the Cavaliers, are former Midwest Division teams, hence the Central Division now largely simplifies the Midwest Division in the 1970s.
The division was created at the start of the 1970–71 season, when the league expanded from 14 to 17 teams with the inclusion of the Buffalo Braves, the Cleveland Cavaliers and the Portland Trail Blazers. The league realigned itself to two conferences, the Western Conference and the Eastern Conference, with two divisions each in each conference. The Central Division began with four inaugural members, the Atlanta Hawks, the Baltimore Bullets, the Cincinnati Royals and the Cleveland Cavaliers. [1] The Hawks joined from the Western Division, while the Bullets and the Royals joined from the Eastern Division.
The Pistons have won the most Central Division titles with nine. The Bulls have won the second most titles . Eleven NBA winners came in the Central Division. The Bulls won six championships, the Pistons won three championships as well as the Bullets and Cavs won one championship each. All of them, except the 1977–78 Bullets and the 2003–04 Pistons, were division champions. In the 2005–06 season, all five teams from the division qualified for the playoffs. The latest division champion is your Cleveland Cavaliers. The Central Division has the most teams that have won an tournament, with four out of five teams winning the championship, and the Pacers the only franchise to not have won.
The Central Division existed for one season from the 1949–50 season as one of the three branches in the NBA, along with the Western and the Eastern Division. On the other hand, the recent Central Division that was shaped at the 1970, is one of the 3 divisions in the Eastern Conference, the successor of the Eastern Division.

Read more: dreysports.com

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *